About Us



The Sutherland Seahawks is entering its 32nd year; a brief history can be found below

Detailed on this page is information on each tier of football that the club offers including, Junior football for under 14’s, Under 19’s and Open aged football.

Gridiron NSW (GNSW) is the controlling body of Gridiron in this state and is affiliated with Gridiron Australia (GA). Organized gridiron has existed in this state since 1983.

The Club prides itself in its ability to develop players from Junior and Colts levels all the way through to college football and the NFL.


JUNIOR GRIDIRON is a new development program and competition for 11-14 year olds run by the Sutherland Seahawks. *** The Junior Gridiron Program will not be run in 2019

The COLTS is for players aged 15-19 and is played on Saturdays. Preseason starts in June, the 2016 competition runs August to December. Film nights are Monday or Tuesday, practices are Wednesday and Friday. Interested players should read the ‘New Players Look Here‘ page.

The DIVISION ONE season is for players aged 18 years and older, rookie players are welcome to join the team.

Please read the New Players Look Here’ page for details

Practices are Wednesday 7pm to 9pm and Saturday 3.30pm to 5.30pm in the preseason then change in the regular season to Monday Night film session 7.15pm to 8.30pm at the team gym and on field practice Wednesday 7pm to 9pm.

Equipment hire is included for Rookie Colts and Division One players, and all players are provided with their training jersey and playing uniform but are encouraged to purchase their own equipment

THE CLUB PRACTICE FIELD is at Waratah Athletics Track at Sutherland on Rawson Ave.

THE CLUB GYM is Shire Speed and Strength 84 Captain Cook Drive at Caringbah. Club members are encouraged to lift and run in the off season and preseason. They receive free coaching and discounted member fees at Shire Speed and Strength.

Contact Vice President Admin Jordan Holman for details

Read the ‘New Players Look Here’ page first.

Emails can be sent to sutherlandseahawks2018@gmail.com


The Sutherland Seahawks were formed in 1987 by Terry Johnston.

The first game for the Seahawks was a scrimmage against the Bondi Raiders on May 6th 1987 at Queens Park and the club played with Caringbah High School as its home field until 2003.

In 1995 the first version of the Seahawks Colts team was formed.

The club has won the following Championships.

1992 NSWGFL AA Championship over the Liverpool Pirates

1997 NSWGFL Championship over the ACT Astros

2000 NSWGFL Championship over the Sydney University Lions

2000 NSWGFL Junior Championship over the Manly Redbacks

2001 NSWGFL Championship over the Sydney University Lions

2003 NSWGFL Colts Championship over the Penrith City Chiefs

2004 NSWGFL Colts Championship over the Penrith City Chiefs

2005 NSWGFL Colts Championship over the West Sydney Trojans

2006 NSWGFL Colts Championship over UTS Gridiron

2010 GNSW Colts Championship over the Sydney University Cubs

2013 GNSW Colts Championship over the Sydney University Cubs

2014 GNSW Colts Championship over the West Sydney Trojans

2015 GNSW Colts Championship over North West Sydney Predators

2016 GNSW Colts Championship over UTS Gridiron

2017 GNSW Colts Championship over Sydney University Cubs

Head Coaches by Year

Terry Johnston 1987 -1996

Michael Orchard 1997- 1999

Phil Hunt 2000-2002

Ross Burden 2003

Peter Upham 2004-2014

Christos Lambropolous 2016 to present

Colts Head Coaches by Year

Michael Orchard 1995-1998

Michael Southon 1999

Kim Kilpatric 2000

Peter Upham 2001-2007

Chris Bondin 2008-2009

Sam Rababi 2010-2011

Christos Lambropolous 2012- 2015

Jason Lambropolous 2016 to present